the barden bellas are back.. maybe?

So Pitch Perfect 3 (PP3) has been announced and, as you all expected, I have thoughts on it.

The first movie was one of the best teen movies I’ve seen in a while. Of course, the only thing that bothered me was the way they chose to tackle Beca and Chloe’s sexualities – they were bisexual in the books, but the creative team behind the movie decided not to explore that. The two of them still became extremely popular as a slash couple, so joke’s on them. I’m getting off track here.

As much as I love the Pitch Perfect franchise (as we all know I do), I don’t see how they can effectively raise the stakes even higher and still keep it fresh and interesting – especially without Anna Kendrick in the mix, who, let’s face it, carries the franchise on her shoulders. Beca Mitchell is the glue that holds them all together. Their new star, Emily Junk (because Hardon was too weird) was fantastic and the way they set her up as a new lead was great, but.. I don’t think she can carry the movie the way Anna did. Already with a passionate fan following, not only on her own but for her relationship with Brittany Snow in the movie, the Up In The Air star is what pushed the franchise into cult movie status.

Then again, I did say something similar about the first movie and they managed to surprise me. Kay Cannon is a great writer of teen films and managed to make the second one even funnier than the first, so I’m not opposed to another funny movie with great music in it. My concern is that if they don’t get back Anna or involve an Acapella competition in some sense, it’ll feel more like Glee – not at all like Pitch Perfect, but they’ll keep trying to make it feel like that. It’ll effectively ruin the feel of the franchise, and third time is supposed to be a charm. Their choice to make the Bellas graduate was a weird one if they were planning a third. How are the Bellas supposed to come together again? Are we exploring the new Bellas? How will the old Bellas connect back into it?

The final number of PP2 felt like it was closing the franchise. Bit of a weird place to put a middle film. It makes total sense that they’d make a third movie (PP2 is the highest-grossing musical movie of recent times), I just don’t know how it would fit in.

Anyway, long rant. TLDR; PP3 is a good idea in theory, but with graduated Bellas and Anna Kendrick possibly gracefully bowing out, it might be time to just stop it while it’s ahead.

P.S. Be sure to check out my Tumblr!! I’ve revamped it and made it up for the public to check out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment